Day 6 of 21

IMG_7894It’s the weekend!!! I love weekends at home because I get to spend my days cooking in the kitchen and snuggling with my husband and dogs. The weather was terrible on Saturday, 3 inches of snow followed by freezing rain, so I headed to the grocery store early in the morning to avoid all of the people buying milk and eggs. I asked David when he wanted to workout because if I do not set an alarm than we tend to try to skip our workout or talk each other out of it. I was surprised at 10 am when David asked if we could go ahead and knock out Dirty 30 Fix Extreme. That meant my Shakeology would be an amazing and refreshing post workout snack. The dogs were super stir crazy by the evening, I was glad I planned a quicker dinner so that I could play with them outside while the spaghetti squash finished in the oven.

IMG_7833Breakfast:

  • 2 Mini Vegetable Egg Cups (the last two of the batch, I am going to make these again for week 3 with some alterations!)
  • Hot Sauce, because in my house everything my husband heats up for me ends up with some hot sauce 🙂
  • PB and Strawberry Oatmeal with a pinch of sea salt

Snack 1: Pina Colada Shakeology

  • 1 Scoop Vanilla Shakeology
  • 1 tsp Pure Coconut Extract
  • 1 Purple Pineapple
  • 10 oz of Water

Lunch: Fajitas 🙂 I got the last serving!! (I swear that never happens)

Snack 2: I got a little off track here when I was baking for my husband…I was supposed to have veggies and hummus but I ended up sneaking a Vegan Berry Muffin (recipe to be posted later tonight). Luckily I forgot to add almond milk to my shake for my third yellow for the day, so I ended up counting that as my yellow, blue, and last purple (not perfect container math, but we all have slip-ups).

IMG_7864Dinner: Spaghetti Squash with Shrimp Marinated in Lime Basil Vinaigrette.

  • Spaghetti Squash (a great pasta substitute when you don’t have a yellow container left for the day)
  • Shrimp (sauteed in a pan with salt and pepper to taste)
  • Lime Basil Vinaigrette from the 21 Day Fix Extreme Book (added to the shrimp for the last minute of cooking)

This dinner was a big hit with my husband, since he didn’t have fajitas for lunch, I served his over whole wheat pasta. By the time I had come downstairs with my plate and drink, a majority of his plate was clean! I keep a list of recipes I cook once per round and this will definitely make the list. It was simple and you could cook the squash while you were working out and then quick saute the shrimp for a great weeknight meal.

Workout: Dirty 30 Extreme consisted of 3 rounds, 2 exercises each round and each exercise lastsIMG_7842 one minute. Most of the moves worked your arms and legs at the same time. For example, the Squat Press is a weighted squat with a press at the top of the squat. I thought my legs would be dead after Lower Fix Extreme and Cardio Fix Extreme, but this workout actually worked out all of the soreness from the past two days. My favorite move was the Lunge Row Curl, it’s a forward lunge with a row at the bottom and then you balance on one leg and curl at the top. I love that the chalk board in the back of the exercise room in the video says “Don’t Stop When You’re Tired, Stop when You’re Done.” Oh and just when you think you are done, Autumn throws in a bonus round move, it’s a Plank Crunch!!!! I really need to work on my balance for this one, I kept falling to the side I had the weight on. This workout made me feel so strong, worked out all the lactic acid built up in my legs and still managed to kick my butt. I am sad that there is only one more new workout to go, but I have loved every one of these workouts so far!

Leave a Reply

