Day 4 of 21

IMG_7804

The ever dreaded Lower Fix Extreme Day! Today was my first day back in the office after my snow day and a day of telework. It was so sad when I went to grab my laptop and Zoey was already in the basement wagging her tail and hopping into her normal telework position. But I’m so lucky to have a job that lets me spend more time with my dogs and husband, so I can’t really complain! I’ve upped my container bracket from 21 Day Fix and didn’t realize how much my lunch box would be pushed to the limit. The seams on my lunchbox have split! If anyone has a great suggestion for a larger insulated lunchbox, I would be more than grateful if you commented below. Breakfast, lunch and my two snacks packed, I headed back to work in the office. All of the hunger and crankiness from yesterday was gone; I’m starting to think that was my bodies response to cutting out the sugar from the weekend of binging. While the workout kicked my butt, literally, I loved how strong it made my legs and butt feel, of course I struggled to get up the stairs to make dinner, but I will look forward to this workout next week.

Breakfast:IMG_7779

  • Mini Vegetable Egg Cups (see my recipe page)
  • Whole Grain Sprouted Toast
  • One Purple Container of Strawberries

I had a very busy morning back at work filled with meetings and phone conferences. This breakfast kept me full until it was time for my mid-morning snack. I ate it as three smaller meals, since I didn’t have a free time to just sit and eat. During 21 Day Fix Extreme I want to focus on mindful eating. The idea is that if you are watching TV, checking email or having a conversation and not paying attention to what you are tasting than you will feel less satisfied and ultimately less full. Have you ever grabbed a piece of fruit while checking email only to look down and realize you ate the entire piece and feel unsatisfied? That is mindless eating! So when I eat in the office I try to take 5 minutes to really just enjoy what I am eating. It seems to be working, and I find that I really appreciate the sweetness of fruit more than when i was just popping strawberries in my mouth one after another.

Snack 1: Shakeology Bar and an orange. Unfortunately I had to eat this during our morning teleconference, but I was still full from breakfast, so didn’t actually feel the need for a snack like I do on most days.

Lunch: My typical quick clean meal of baked chicken, a sweet potato, and broccoli. I was running way behind when I was packing lunch this morning, the coffee grinder was not cooperating…so I abandoned my more ambitious plan of a loaded sweet potato for a repeat meal. In the past I would have caved and just grabbed Chipotle or Subway out with coworkers but I’m determined to follow this plan for 21 days to see how my abs improve.IMG_7781

Snack 2: Double Berry Shakeology (my bag of strawberry arrived!!!)

  • 1 Scoop Strawberry Shakeology
  • 1 Purple Frozen Raspberries
  • 1/2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 10 Oz of Water
  • 2-4 Ice Cubes

I was super excited that my shake actually fit in my new shaker cup. Apparently I make monster sized shakes, because no one else in my group has this problem….I took my shakeology to my afternoon meeting, and since I was just sitting in for a second opinion I got to sit back and really enjoy it. This recipe by BeachBody is delicious (I added the cinnamon because I am a cinnamon fanatic) and it will be one of my regulars this month.

IMG_7799Dinner: Fajitas!

  • 1 Red of Chicken (cooked with the smokey southwest seasoning)
  • 1 Green of Bell Peppers and Onions (sauteed in 1 tsp extra virgin olive oil and then tossed with the chicken and seasoning)
  • 2 Corn Tortillas (6 inch)
  • 2 Tablespoons hot salsa (Ok, I admit that this is a little break from the book, she calls for pico de gallo…I couldn’t find any at the store that didn’t look gross so I did cheat a little…)
  • Dab of Greek Yogurt mixed with the leftover smokey southwest seasoning

As you can see I had a fajita fan club…I was trying to take a photo of Zoey begging for my fajita and next thing I know she is off that pillow with her face stuck in the fajita. She had a salsa beard, but was quiet satisfied with her piece of stolen chicken….She needs a haircut, bad, so that I can see when she is evilly glaring at my dinner! Fajitas are probably my favorite dinner on 21 Day Fix. I think it is because they remind me of the fajita kits from the grocery store that my mom used to make when I was a kid, especially after softball gaIMG_7792mes when we didn’t get home at our usual time.

Workout: Lower Fix Extreme uses weights and the resistance band with squats, lunges, and jumps to make your legs scream! The workout runs 33:51 including the warm-up and cool-down. There are four rounds, with two exercises that are repeated one time per round. While this workout was extremely demanding, I found Autumn to be very inspiring at just the moment I felt like quitting! Several of the exercises started with squats or lunges with your heavy weights for the first thirty seconds and then switched to the same motion as a jump. I loved this combination of weights and jumps to really get a deep burn in the muscle you were working. It also forced you to focus on keeping your core engaged and work on your form so that when you put down the weights and began the jump you were already using perfect form and reduced risk of injury. I struggled with the Back Lunge – Plyo move, which was a weighted backwards lunge for the first 30 seconds and then a jump from the lunge position, but the girl in IMG_7801the pink sports bras was using an athletic movement with her arms that no one else was using that really helped me to get off the ground from that position. My favorite move was the side lunge into a leg lift, this explosive movement really made my inner thigh (a problem spot for me) burn. By the end of the workout I had burned 268 calories according the my Fitbit Charge HR and was drenched in sweat. Lower Fix Extreme is my favorite leg workout I have tried by Beachbody (my completed programs include: PiYo, T25 (Alpha, Beta and Gamma), P90, and 21 Day Fix). I finished my night with a tsp of peanut butter and made the dogs their own spoon of peanut butter so that I could eat mine in peace. Since they are not on the fix they got to enjoy a lot more than a single tsp between the two of them..although Zoey is starting to pack on a little winter weight and we may need to develop the 21 Day Fix dog version sooner than anticipated!

Leave a Reply

