Day 3 of 21

IMG_7803

Today I really struggled with hunger, I’m not sure if it was due to being home for 5 days in a row, or if I didn’t space my meals and snacks correctly. The good news is that I stuck to the plan, the bad news was I was quite cranky! If you’re wondering why there is a swimsuit in my collage today, its my goal suit for the end of the program and I just ordered it from J.Crew!!!! I was searching for a second bathing suit for the cruise and my cousin told me it was time to enjoy all of my hard work and buy something more age appropriate! You’ll also notice a lot of repeated food from day 2. Since we’re essentially a one income family, I try to cook in bulk for two reasons: to save money when grocery shopping and to reduce the number of times I’m in the IMG_7778kitchen cooking after work.

Breakfast:

  • Whole Grain Sprouted Bread (Rudis Organic Bakery: my husband found this at our local organic store and the quinoa provides a great crunch when you toast it)
  • Vegetable Egg Cups (Recipe provided under breakfast)
  • Orange (Cara Cara from Costco, these oranges are amazing right now!)

Snack 1: Shakeology Bar and I’ll let you guess the fruit…..(Orange…..grrrrr stupid bananas are still green 5 days post purchase)

IMG_7725Lunch: Repeat from yesterday….

  • Baked Chicken with salt free Garlic and Herb Seasoning from McCormicks
  • Baked Sweet Potato
  • Broccoli (note the extra cute Zoey toofers being flashed at me for a bite of chicken!)

Snack 2: Vanilla Cherry Shakeology

  • 1 Scoop Vanilla Shakeology
  • 1 Purple Frozen Cherries
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • 10 oz of Water

Dinner: Taco Salad (I swear the meat gets better on day 2 after the seasoning has time to really soak into the turkey)

  • Red Container Ground Turkey with Smokey Southwest Seasoning
  • Green Container Spinach
  • Green Container Chopped Onions and Tomato
  • Orange Container of Lime Basil Vinaigrette
IMG_7727
Zoey and her dragon are ready for Pilates 🙂

Workout: I think David came up with the perfect summary of Pilates Fix Extreme, “50 Shades of Banding”! This workout used a resistance band for the entire 30 minutes. It took me a minute to even figure out how she had wrapped the band around her feet, after that some hilarity ensued as we tried to flip ourselves over without losing the band off our feet. I would suggest having the pause button handy for this workout, and making sure you have a mirror or camera that you can observe your form with. Pilates is about form and if you are not following the moves correctly, than you will not get the most out of your workout. By about minute 13 my core was burning! I said I wanted a six pack and this is the workout that’s going to get me there! All of the moves are performed on the floor and it’s important to really focus on your breathing. I enjoyed this workout, but it was definitely not my husband’s cup of tea. His band kept snapping out of the handle and he kept cursing Autumn….I think I may have to workout on Wednesdays by myself IMG_7761 for the next two weeks….My biggest complaint was that my wrists were sore by the end of the workout, I think I will take her suggestion to switch my grip during the moves. I was also feeling all of the arm work from yesterday’s Upper Extreme Fix workout. I may be going crazy, or I am just super hopeful but I think I can see changes in my abs and arms after only 3 days. I’ll post updated pictures and results on Sunday to see what you think.

Leave a Reply

