Day 1 of 21

IMG_7634 Day 1 of 21 went pretty smoothly. I was coming off the weekend, so I had time to prep everything in advance. My biggest concern was that I had stuffed my face all weekend with junk (pizza, cheese fries, Chinese takeout, chocolate cake, brunch out in D.C.) and that I was going to be hungry my first day back at clean eating with portion control. I couldn’t have been more wrong! I was stuffed and struggled to get in all my containers for the day, I think a lot of it had to do with being properly hydrated for the first time in about a week.

My idea is to give you a review of my nutrition and how the workout went for me each day for the next 21 days. My starting weight is 133.0, which would place me in the lowest set of containers, but since I am not trying to actively lose weight I have bumped myself up to the second set of containers. So here we go, day 1!

Breakfast: This meal is a pretty typical breakfast for me on the 21 Day Fix; I didn’t want to start with anything too ambitiousIMG_7615 on day one. I also made breakfast in bed for my husband since it was my day off from work. He had an additional two pieces of turkey bacon to make his meal a little more filling (not 21 day fix extreme approved).

  • 2 Scrambeled Eggs with Herbamare
  • Peanut Butter and Strawberry Oatmeal
    • 1/4 Cup Instant Organic Oats
    • 1/2 Cup Water
    • 1 tsp organic smooth peanut butter
    • 1 purple container sliced strawberries
  • Coffee (black)

Snack 1:  Shakeology Bar ( Vanilla Shakeology, Oatmeal, Peanut Butter, Raisins, Almond Milk) and one medium orange. The Shakeology bar tasted like a vanilla peanut butter protein bar and was a very filling morning snack (this will definitely be repeated over the next 12 days).

IMG_7622Lunch: One of my favorite meals on 21 Day Fix that my amazing sister introduced me to is the naked burger! This meal is perfect when you don’t have a yellow left for dinner and need to use up those extra burgers from grilling during the summer. My protein source is a turkey burger (ground turkey and whatever spices my husband can get his hands on in the kitchen) that you place on top of a wonderful green salad mix. Add your typical burger toppings (tomato and onion) and then use mustard (free on 21 day fix extreme) as your dressing. Just as filling as a regular burger without burning through two yellow containers for a bun.

Snack 2: Pina Colada Shakeology! I am leaving for a family cruise in a couple of weeks IMG_7629(my inspiration for the 21 Day Fix Extreme) and was dreaming of all of the tasty drinks I would be having in the Caribbean, when the idea for the Piña Colada Shakeology popped into my head. I found an organic pure coconut extract at our local organic market which I knew would be perfect for this recipe

  • 1 Scoop Vanilla Shakeology
  • 10 Oz Water
  • 1 tsp Coconut Extract
  • 1 Purple Frozen Pineapple

Throw this into your blender and add ice if you like it a little thicker! Here you can see me rocking my brand new shakeology cup on the way to take the dogs out for a walk with my friend Ellen. I realized I had been sitting too long at this point and the dogs were starting to go stir crazy! With 8 inches of snow on the way I knew I needed to get them some exercise or they were going to eat us alive when we tried to fit in our workout later that night (you will see the results of walking the dogs below in the workout review).

IMG_7633Dinner: Cilantro Lime Chicken (http://fabulesslyfrugal.com/freezer-meal-recipe-cilantro-lime-chicken-slow-cooker/) on a yellow bell pepper and topped with Mexican hot sauce (free). I threw some raw broccoli on the side to fit in my final green container on the day (this was pure laziness on my part for not planning my fourth green and not realizing it until the last minute). The cilantro lime chicken is a great freezer meal that I stumbled upon last week while running my clean eating crockpot group! You literally throw all the ingredients in the bag (I altered the amounts to perfectly fit 21 Day Fix containers) and then throw in the freezer. On a day you want a meal and have no time to think about dinner, you grab the bag out of the freezer, dump it in the crockpot, cook it while you are at work, and come home to a healthy home cooked meal with zero thought!  I may be 26 years old and married with no kids, but Mom Blogs are awesome!!!! I mean why not learn how to prep things in advance for when my life is actually crazy (although let me tell you…living with a graduate student and two hyper dogs can be crazy at times). At this point I was wondering how I was going to even finish dinner. It took me over an hour to eat all this food with Lexi breathing in my face the entire time hoping for a piece of chicken. Overall it was a great day of clean eating, nothing was bland, and I certainly wasn’t hungry at any point of the day.

Workout: Monday on 21 Day fix is Plyo Fix Extreme…now anyone who attempted the bonus Plyo workout from 21 Day Fix  can tell you that you better like to jump…and like to do it for 30 minutes. Autumn does not mess around the first IMG_7631day of this program. She wants you to struggle to walk up a flight of stairs the next day, and you will! I had just completed Alpha and Beta Round of T25 and my husband and I had started Gamma when I came down with the flu a week and a half ago. I’m not joking when I called it the plague of 2015, fever, chills, body ache, and bronchitis. So even though I am in fairly good cardio shape, I am still recovering from being ill.

I struggled badly on this workout, which is 30 seconds of doing a jumping move followed by 30 seconds of rest. There are a total of 5 rounds with 2 moves per round (most of the time it was actually three, because the moves were one legged jumps, so you did 30 seconds on each leg…but who is counting…I mean I certainly struggled to count while cursing Autumn under my breath…). My favorite move was the squat hop which was a weighted squat in a square, it made me feel really athletic, and I liked that she talked about adjusting the jump and increasing the squat depth if you were working with limited space (this is an issue for us since my husband and I work out together in our basement). My least favorite move was the split lunge jump, I couldn’t really get the height I wanted jumping out of the split lunge. This will be the move that I’m focused on seeing improvement in next Monday.

This workout is amazing for two reasons, it works the largest muscle groups in your body (your legs, which means you’re IMG_7624burning tons of calories) and the most sore muscle I have today is my booty (I love working on my booty, so this makes me super happy). I think if I wasn’t coming off of being sick I would equate the intensity this workout with that of T25’s Total Body Circuit; your whole body will hurt the next day, you’re pushing your cardio limit, you’ll be sucking wind the first couple of times, but your progress by the end of the program will amaze you!  As most of you know, my two faithful dogs are usually attacking us during workouts, I don’t know if it was due to the jumping or the very long walk before this program, but both of them were perfect angels for the entire workout. This is a huge win for me because jumping with a golden retriever in your face can be less than fun! Overall this workout pushed me to my limits physically (as I said I think a lot of this has to do with coming off of being sick) but I actually enjoyed the moves and I am looking forward to seeing how I feel about it next week.

Oh, one final note, the modifier—she’s only semi-modifying, she still jumps, she still uses weights—she is not a low impact modifier like in the original 21 Day Fix. This is similar to T25 Gamma, if you’re attempting these programs you probably are no longer using the modifier in the original for many moves. She is doing a much smaller, less explosive jump and using lower weights but these workouts are designed to push you to the final sculpting of your body, and therefore you’re going to have to sweat and push yourself to get the results you really want.

Leave a Reply

