Valentine’s Day Egg in a Basket

10968376_435843253240071_7176014929597506679_n

This Valentine’s Day I decided to surprise my husband with a healthy 21 Day Fix approved breakfast. We have been eating a lot of dippy eggs (Eggs Over Easy, for those not from Lancaster, PA) with sprouted toast. After doing some research online, I came across recipes for egg in a basket (a take on the British dish of Toad in a Hole, sausage and egg in a piece of toast or pastry). I though I would adapt the recipes I found with butter to fit my clean eating plan. I added avocado and hot sauce to make up for the lack of butter and think that I may have found a new weekend tradition! A heart shape cookie cutter added a little romantic touch to kick off a weekend of relaxation.

Below is the recipe to make two servings (Each serving is one piece of toast, an egg and avocado), I added two pieces of turkey bacon and half of a grapefruit to make the meal 1 Yellow, 1 Purple, 1 Red and 1 Blue for my 21 Day Fix fans!

Ingredients:

  •  2 Eggs
  • 2 Slices Whole Grain Sprouted Bread (or whole grain toast)
  • 1/2 Avocado
  • Salt and Pepper (to taste)
  • Hot Sauce (Mexican or Tabasco)

Directions:

  1.  Use a small cookie cutter to create a hole in the center of the bread.
  2. Lightly toast bread and cut out piece of bread.
  3. Spray pan lightly with olive oil and heat pan over medium heat and add toasted piece of bread in pan, crack egg into center of cut out toast.
  4. Cover pan and cook until egg yolk is set
  5. Flip toast and cook for an additional 30 seconds or until yolk is cooked to desired firmness.
  6. Mash avocado and spread on toast.
  7. Season with salt and pepper and hot sauce.

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as we do!

Leave a Reply

